Fast Track Pro and Ardour 3

Hello!

I’m totally new to Ubuntu and Ardour. I have installed Ardour 3 beta 3 in Ubuntu 11.10 and I am trying to make it work with my Fast Track Pro. While the system seems to recognize it with no problem (I can listen music throw it with Banshee or Spotify, for example), I get no sound with Ardour and I can’t record anything too. The program plays sounds throw my integrated audio hardware, despite I selected USB Audio at splash screen.

I was a Windows XP user for years and my card worked fine. I have read some post in this forum and tried diferent configurations at qjackctl, but nothing seemed to work.

So, how can I make my card to work again? Can you give some tips to find a solution? Ardour seems a very interesting platform for me, and I’d like to test it!

Thanks!

Here you have some screen captures. Yo can see what I have selected at JACK configuration. It’s in spanish, but I think you’ll understand the pic. I have mounted two images so you can see my input and output devices:

I have tried some other combinations of input/output with no effect.

Also, at Ardour splash screen, I am prompted to select my device from a list of two usb devices. Here you can see:

I have read about this behaviour but it doesn’t matter what I select: it doesn’t work :frowning: I can only get sound throw my internal hardware. And of course, no recording at all!

Thank you!

Thank you for your answers LeatusPenguin, but still can’t get Ardour plays throw my usb card. I have selected my fast track pro from the interface dropdown menu and left the others at default with no result. Also, redownloaded Ardour 2(I tried it before Ardour 3 beta) with same result. I thought my usb card was class compliant so I could use it with no problem. I have tried Audacity and I can play and record with my usb card (but it gave some problems at first, with a very choppy sound that magically disappeared).

Any idea?

Please read the section: