Do i have Hardware issues? or Software issues?

I have 2 to 3 years experience with Ardour now, but with such minuscule tasks that i could not refer to myself as anything but Newbie. I have been learning more about audio engineering and have been trying to expand my own capabilities and use Ardour and my hardware to a fuller capacity.

I’m currently using a Yamaha mg 10/2 mixer with the “rec out” channels going into the inputs of my M-Audio Audiophile 2496 soundcard. And of course the outputs from the card into channels 9/10 of my mixer. To Monitor, I turn down the fader of the soundcard input so it is sending no signal out the “rec out” back to the soundcard, and then send it to the pre-fader send, i then can hear it by plugging my headphones into the pre-fader send Mono output jack.

I haven’t really had issues recording sounds, or playing sounds, so i’ve had no reason to get involved with my jack connections or any “under the hood” ardour connections. But i’m having some small issues.

My first question, if i am monitoring with my hardware (and i’ve selected that option in Ardour) why will Ardour still play the sound of the input while recording? It is coming back with a lag and it is not responsive enough of a signal to play in time. it really just messes me up.

Second issue, When i turn up the fader of the soundcard input, it starts to feedback terribly as though the signal is being fed back into the line somewhere, like a loop. After fiddling around, it would stop when we unplugged the “rec out” out puts going from the mixer to the card. This, to me, means that the sound is constantly being processed by ardour and sent right back through the mixer, so the sound initially coming from Ardour is being re-played in an infinite circle. Is this something that can be changed in the Ardour and/or Jack settings?

Are my issues coming from the software? or are the due to lack of hardware capabilities?