Cannot open project after export

Howdy all,

I have been getting used to using Ardour in just the past week, I’m brand new to it. Seems like a very flexible and powerful program.

I’ve hit a couple of roadblocks getting Ardour up and running, but through some sleuthing and perusing the forums here I was able to find some solutions.

This next one has me dumbfounded.

I was working on a song of mine, total about 6 tracks. I save the project, then decided to export the project. I did not read up on the export process, so it was my fault for not ‘checking’ the master outs, and I got a .wav file that is silent. Okay, no prob, go back in and export with the right settings. However, I no longer have the ability to open up the project successfully.

As soon as I open up the project, I get the following error:

[ERROR]: could not reconstitute MementoCommand from XMLNode. object type = N6ARDOUR13AudioPlaylistE id = 1164
[ERROR]: could not reconstitute MementoCommand from XMLNode. object type = N6ARDOUR13AudioPlaylistE id = 1164

I did a search on this error and the closest I could find were threads about just ignoring the error. I’d love to ignore it, but after this comes up, the project has no audio. It is registering on the input meter, but absolutely zero sound. In this state, I try to export again, using more correct settings, and I am still left without an audible .wav file.

In this condition, if I open up a new project, mess around, then export using the correct settings, I did get it to work. I can also save the project, close it, and re-open it just fine, so it is isolated to this one particular project. It won’t be a huge deal if I have to redo the project, but I’m not sure how I’m going to trust Ardour if I record a project and then randomly encounter errors to which I can no longer listen to it or export it.

Has this error come up before? Is there any way to get my project back and working?