RE: No Recording from M Audio 2496 in Ardour

Dear all o/,

I’m trying to get input from my mic. I cannot record anything. FYI, I have a M-audio 2469 Sound card. I’ve selected my sound card as the input device in JACK, and i’ve connected my mic to my mixer which is connected via those white and red cables into my sound card. I still have no audio being recorded. What can I do?

Here’s a wide screenshot of all my problems:

24 02 2013 Sofar002

LINK: http://postimage.org/image/bulcn30r9/

In essence, the envy24control mixer lights and shows activity: so I believe this rules out a connection problem
The ardour track doesn’t show any activity, if anything it sort of is recording a mild huming buzz. So I think it could be a JACK setup issue. FYI: full disclosure: I am a total newbie and I am learning as I go along. Even in Audacity or in Qtractor, the I cannot get any audio working if I use JACK.

General setup:
Distro: Crunchbang Walter (Debian Wheezy based)
Sound stuff installed: ALSA, JACK, Pulseaudio, Envy24control
Equipment: Condensor Mic>Alesis Mixer>Cables to>M Audio 2496 Card> Motherboard

FYI, I’ve tried swapping the input device as being the M audio and as the ICE 1712. I feel miserable.

Please help me!

kind regards,
Grey

Have you read this? It may give you some insight in how to handle routing in Ardour and Jack, which sounds like where you are having issues.

http://en.flossmanuals.net/ardour/ch023_recording-audio/

Reading that entire manual is recommended for the record.

Seablade

What kind of mic do you have? If it is a condenser mic it will need phantom voltage to operate. Also, mics require a preamp and it is not clear your input has a preamp.

Seablade: yes I have read it and this doesn’t seem to solve any of my problems. I get the basic idea of routing connections in JACK. The sad thing is it that i cannot get any audio into my application, even when selecting the M audio card as my input device