Cutting out track parts

Hello, I’m testing Ardour (so I’m completely new to it) if it may be a suitable audio editor for me. Up to now it seems to work fine, but I got stuck trying to find a way to cut out a part of a session. It means I need to cut out the same region in all tracks. I can’t find a razor blade or anything which would allow me to do this. I went through the manual and I didn’t find the answer.

I will appreciate any help. Thanks!

Hello Radim.
Just press the ‘R’ key on your keyboard (switch to the ‘Region’ selection mode) and select the range you need to edit\delete while holding the SHIFT key

Oups! sorry. It selects a range but not deleting it. Interesting…

I got it. All you need is to specify a range when holding the CTRL down :slight_smile:

… but first click each track while holding the CTRL to select them

Thanks for the answer. I found there are several manuals for Ardour, so I found the better one and found that to remove a region I have to make a group, to be able to work in all tracks. Than there is a choice to remove the region. Unfortunately, originally I made a region in one track and I don’t know how to clear it. I tried to make a new region in all tracks but now it avoids the track with the previous region. Is there any chance to clear the region?

pofigon: your advice is more or less completely misleading, I’m afraid. No modifier keys are required to do the action that Radim is interested in.

radim: i suggest using undo to get back to where you were.

If I understand correctly what you want to do, you need to select all the regions that exist in the place you want to cut, then place your edit point (usually the mouse pointer) at the start of the part you want cutting. That will split all the regions at that point. If you then select everything after the split, you can move the boundaries (to create a silent gap) and then select everything after the split point and drag it to close up the gap if that’s what you need.