USB mics and recording with ARDOUR?

Hello all, I’ve been a windows home recording artist for many years now. With the launch of vista and all that scary drm business, I’m seeing if its possible to move to Linux.

I’ve used Linux before and enjoyed it. Linux is now reaching a place where I think I can use it daily and professionally, so I’m looking to switch.

Does anyone here have experience in recording with USB microphones on linux/Ardour?

I use the Snowball USB mic ( http://www.bluemic.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Products&file=index&prod_id=18 ). I don’t know if its compatible with Linux or Ardour, so if anyone has used these before, or has some information, that would be great!

Thanks,
Mark

p.s. this is my first post, so sorry if it is in the wrong forum, please feel to move it.

If its a standard USB class compliant device, it will work with Ardour just like all the others. Remember that Ardour does not talk to audio h/w directly, that job is handled by JACK. Since the device is 1 way (capture only), you will need to start JACK with separate playback and capture devices. You probably will not get the latency as low with such a configuration.

If it is not a standard USB class compliant device, all bets are off. The simple way to tell is whether it comes with drivers for Windows and OS X. If it does, then its not class compliant. If it claims to work without driver installation, it should work on Linux.

Yup, no drivers, so thats great news! Thanks for the reply!

I know nothing about Jack, so I’ll go read up on it!

Thanks again.

Ardour - OS X v10.11.6 - I have a usb mic connected. on the Mac, input window, usb is selected - and it shows input levels - working. But in an Ardour track, the computer internal mic continues to work! ???

Answered in IRC I believe, short version is the wrong device was selected in Ardour’s Audio/MIDI setup dialog, longer answer requires aggregate device on OS X.

Seablade

@troonator: the JACK FAQ covers this issue.