ardour could not start jack

there are several reasons:

1 you requested audio parameters are not supported.
2 jack is running as another user.

im new to linux and have not even used this program yet as it doesnt even open?

any ideas???

without any details it could be had to say. do you even have jack installed?

look for qjackctl (spelling might be wrong)

try starting jack from there and see what happens.

what distrobution are you using?

i know the problem but have no idea on how to fix it.
yes qjack is installed.

what i have done is installed calf studio plugins from their website via terminal but not realised that i then have to go through
a heap of other commands to compile everything together for it to work as explained here-
http://calf.sourceforge.net/download.html - compile from source! its beyond me coming from windows how to do this.
im used to installing packages or sudo apt-get installs but when i did it that way the software was out of date.
and since installing the files for compiling its messed with something which has caused a conflict with ardour
and i dont know how to revert the process of what i have done, heck i dont even know where all these files go once downloaded…

elementary luna updated to ubuntu 13.10 kernel, i think?

its down to jack not running in realtime as when i turn it off ardour opens fine? so another problem??

anybody??

If you can’t run JACK in realtime, you most likely don’t have the correct user / group permissions set. You need to make sure the ‘audio’ group has permission to run realtime applications, so you may need to add:

@audio - rtprio 99
@audio - memlock unlimited

to your /etc/security/limits.conf file or your /etc/security/limits.d/audio.conf
file (depending upon where the Ubuntu devs have moved the file to this week…)