midi Help!

7 replies [Last post]
hipvabch
User offline. Last seen 35 weeks 1 day ago. Offline
Im new to ardour and i have downloaded a midi file , i want to play it but no sound,.
I'm aware that i need to use a sound source and that ardour only handles data so i have a korg o5rw sound module with midi in out and thru, and 2 outports, how do i hook it up to the computer, i also have a audio fire box for recording with a usb port not sure what else i need i tried many config. but nothing i also added jack to ardour but cannot figure any of this out! im again not real computer savvy any help please!

veda_sticks
User offline. Last seen 1 day 18 hours ago. Offline
midi work in ardour is a bit quirky, iuve never tried to play a midi file.

the easiest way would be to use a software synth. calf fluid sunth can load sf2 files.

To use your module you need to connect via midi , i dont use physical midi so i dont know if theres an extra option to enable so that you can also to jack midi ports

nedzad
User offline. Last seen 7 hours 23 min ago. Offline
FireBox is Presonus AudioBox USB? It works on Linux?

You have 5pin DIN Midi in and out on the rearside.
Midi Out is to be connected to your Korg module midi in!

Check midi capabilities from ALSA and your audio interface!
If you start Qjackctl, dont press "play" on transport; choose Settings and (left side down in window settings) set alsa as midi driver! https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToJACKConfiguration
Scroll down and watch the "dark" picture of Qjackctl settings!In corner left side down you see midi driver is set to none.
You need to choose alsa!
Now plug your 5 pincable from Soundcards midi out to Your Korg midi in!
The rest is really your job :)
If you use midi, you must know what is midi 0 midi 1,what are midi chnls, sysex, prog,...
Learn about alsa, its aconnect....
Otherwise, you re lost in chaos.

hipvabch