AAF

I am a sound designer working in sound post production. I use Pro Tools as my main tool for editing and mixing, since it is the most widely used tool out there.
I use Ardour for music recording on my linux machine, and for the more creative sound design that I later import into Pro tools (PT isn’t really designed for this, and Ardour’s connectivity via Jack allows some great productivity between software)

I am very impressed with Ardour 3, been using it for Foley recording when I had some hardware issues with PT, and it was a very pleasant experience.

The one issue is native AAF support: It’s 2014 and the one leading technology used for file exchange in the industry between projects, DAWs and video editing is AAF. I know of ardourxchange, (but that only supports IMPORTING, not exporting) and the reasonably expensive (200 usd) windows app AATranslator.

As an open protocol, and one included in so many DAWs, it would make a lot if sense to be able to integrate import/export AAF/OMF into Ardour!

Is there a reason why it’s still not being considered?

AAF is a design nightmare. It is a complete nightmare to implement support. It includes as “open standards” specifications things like Microsoft’s own “filesystem in a file” which was never actually specified anywhere (there is an open source implementation of something like it but that isn’t approved as part of the AAF standard). It has every hallmark of design by committee.

I spent quite a long time looking at AAF several years ago. I would never voluntarily involve myself in developing code to support it. If this is the best the audio industry can do for session interchange formats, it should be utterly ashamed of itself. A file format that basically implies a relational database to support it? Completely ridiculous.