MIDI In Ardour 4 Windows

I’m new to Ardour and ;m pretty impressed with the program.
It will be a on the road replacement for Cubase.

Need to find a way to get Kontack 5 or ? some VST midi inst to load in and play.
Also once I do is there a MIDI editor in A4 ?

Thanks

Terry

They should load fine in Ardour, you just may need to tell it to rescan your plugins in the plugin editor.

Seablade

Kontak 5 shows up but with 64 audio out it is only going to 2 audio out so it it gives and error message
that it is incompatible the other MDA Piano won’t show up and the Real Guitar and Real Strat won’t show up either

Perfect, these are the types of reports that are needed on Windows, I would suggest filing a bug report on tracker.ardour.org so that a developer might be able to look at it and possibly address it. Make sure to describe not only what you are doing, but what your expected result is and what you are actually seeing.

Seablade

Please note that we are NOT supporting Windows at this time, so please dampen expectations about developer resources being applied to this problem. I’m not saying that nobody will look into it - they might - but please don’t imagine that we have the resources to follow up on Windows issues at this time.

Allright.

With Ardour 5 now being supported in Windows, can anyone tell me how to connect an USB/MIDI keyboard to Ardour ?

It works fine with Synthesia, and ZynaddsubFX free software.
In ZynaddsubFX, you have to go to File/Settings…/Main settings, and then, choose the entry “Midi In Dev” under “Windows”.
As a VST plugin, nothing appears, so I don’t how to proceed.

I try to connect the usb/midi keyboard directly from Jack, but the only way to activate MIDI option is to choose ALSA plugin, which doesn’t run with Windows (Ardour crashes).

So I try to connect with the settings/audio option before opening Ardour, but it won’t run.