Suggest some hardware for a new system from scratch?

Hello I’m new to Ardour and new to Linux, though I’m a senior Windows software engineer. My job has had me spending the last month porting code to Vista, which has been a horrible experience. I’m not normally a Windows basher, but Vista just really sucks for even an advanced user’s experience.

I’m ramping up to build and gear up a home music studio at my house, and I’ve pretty much decided to abandon Windows for the time being at home. Considering OSX, which I’m sure would be awesome, though I don’t particularly want to spend $3K on a nice pro-machine. I’m also not particularly crazy about the idea of joining the Mac cult, though I suppose that’s not really necessary to buy a Mac.

After poking around Linux Audio sites the last few days, I’ve come to realize that’s it’s really pretty cool. Given that I’m reasonably confident I could build my own machine without a huge amount of trouble, I’m considering building a basic Linux box optimized for audio so I can evaluate Ardour and the other nice looking apps as well as my eperience in the OS. I may still go with a Mac just to have better plugin/hardware support, or maybe use both. I’ve already poked around a little with the Musix live CD, which I found to be very cool, though not perfect compatibility with my aging Dell 4550. Mainly I couldn’t adjust the screen resolution to 1600X1200 so t
the graphics were a little distorted. I’m sure that’s something that could be fixed with a little time and a real install.

Just realized I did a new topic instead of a reply. The website isn’t working well in IE (yeah I know, probably works fine in Firefox).

repeating second post here:

Continued from last post.

So, after a lot of rambling, some questions: